Black Hole Recordings pres. “Cycles 7” mixed by Max Graham

max graham cyclesMan of limitless musical capacities, Max Graham is renowned across the electronic music’s lands for intercutting three of its foremost sub-styles. In that pursuit, his annual ‘Cycles’ compilation docks again this month, delivering another swirling percolation of Trance, Techno & Progressive.

Packed to its 80-minute limits with constantly surprising curves, turns, peaks and drops, it’s a forward-thinkers delight that once heard, will be quite impossible to forget.

You can pre-order ‘Cycles 7’ Mixed By Max Graham here

Featuring a flawlessly selected & mixed tracklist, ‘Cycles 7’ sports the work of seasoned operators, evermore-familiar artists and ascendant stars-of-tomorrow.

The neo-trance rhythms & moving melodies of ‘Equinox’ from Guy J haunt the opening minutes of the mix, which dovetail into Brian Cid’s elegiac ‘Errors’. Graham’s favourite producer of last year, Rick Pier O’Neil, contributes no less than three new originals to ‘Cycles 7’. The bassline domination of ‘To Declare’ strikes early, while back-to-back in its midsection comes ‘Up To The Groove’ and ‘Chaotically’ – both dealing comparable levels of sonic damage.

Avenax’s softly sung tones on Ewan Rill’s ‘Lotos’ and THNK’s more housily voxed ‘Into You’ gives a voice to Max’s latest ‘Cycles’. Also making notable appearances are John O’Callaghan (under his Henrik Zuberstein alias) with the Pavlovian brilliance of ‘Elicit Response’ and Trent Cantrelle’s ‘Im Nin Alu’ spin, ‘Out Of Line’; both mainstays of Graham’s latter sets.

His attuned ear for up-and-coming talent has also seen places secured in the mix for Dimi Mechero, Apsara, Matt Fax and others. Marking the 15-year anniversary of Graham’s classic ‘Airtight’ comes a next-level rendering from Tim Penner… Per DJ Mag “Splicing” an 8/10 scoring “tough, techno-like gene into proceedings”, it’s one that Graham hailed as his ‘Remix Of The Year’ in 2015.

Building the pressure evermore is the Raw version of Max’s latest, ‘One Hundred’, with its rotund bass and highly sculpted builds, which perfect the mix’s cresting minutes. Tim Penner’s ‘Shadow Light’ meanwhile delivers it its final breath-stealing coup de grace outro.


Max Graham 201. Guy J – Equinox
02. Brian Cid – Errors
03. Rick Pier O’Neil – To Declare
04. Ewan Rill featuring Avenax – Lotos (Vocal Mix)
05. Dimi Mechero – Out Of Staight
06. THNK – Into You
07. Apsara – Terminal
08. Rick Pier O’Neil – Chaotically
09. Rick Pier O’Neil – Up To The Groove (Dub Mix)
10. THNK & Pim Kos – Wall
11. Max Graham – One Hundred (Raw Mix)
12. Trent Cantrelle – Out Of Line
13. Max Graham – Airtight (Tim Penner Remix)
14. Henrik Zuberstein – Elicit Response
15. Matt Fax – Stuck
16. Tim Penner – Shadow Light (Cycles 7 Outro Mix)

Mad About Max! Canadian Max Graham has always forged a path of his own, over the course of his career he’s drawn from multiple influences to create a sound that is a unique combination of Techno, Progressive and Trance. From his signature emotive releases to his famed story telling dj sets he flawlessly fuses genres everywhere from globally renowned festivals like Tomorrowland to his trademark ‘Open to Close’ sets in the best clubs in the world. Max’s love for the art form of mixing and his obsession with finding new music can be heard in the hugely successful compilation series ‘Cycles’ and popular weekly radio show ‘Cycles Radio’ now syndicated in over 85 countries – it is this dedication that ensures the audience at his shows is always taken on an incredible journey. More info is available through the online resources below…

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.