• Subculture mixed by John O’Callaghan & Cold Blue #WIN A COPY #TranceFamily


    Subculture mixed by John O’Callaghan & Cold Blue #WIN A COPY

    Subculture mixed by John O’Callaghan & Cold Blue #WIN A COPY

    Danny Cadeau

    February 24th, 2018

    When is an artist album not exactly an artist album? When, for that matter, is a mixcomp by no means a straight-forward mixcomp!? Well, for one, when Subculture does them! For their upcoming long-player, the label has rolled the central elements from both mediums into one compelling collection, meaningfully and emphatically titled ‘Subculture’.

    Highlighting two of the distinct tones of the label’s range, the album is co-helmed by head-honch John O’Callaghan and one of the scene’s biggest 2017 breakouts, Cold Blue. Both have used its occasion to put their own production material on the frontline of its mixes. So often the mainstay of their sets, across its 29 tracks, no fewer than 19 first gleamed from the DJs’ own studios. In doing so, it offers not only the most authentic of representations of their sets, but also as producers in their own right.

    Filling in further Subculture shades from their significantly broad palette, you’ll find music from many others from their cadre. Giuseppe Ottaviani, Temple One and Craig Connelly are just some of the Subculture-ists whose work features significantly. Further in you’ll also find music other attuned trance operators – David Forbes, Sied van Riel, Liam Wilson, Alex Di Stefano among them.

    First to the decks is the Subculture kingpin himself, O’Callaghan. In primetime mode from its embarking beat, JOC gets into the thick of it with a swathe of his own material. Included amongst are upcoming single ‘Choice of the Angels’, album-premiering ‘Permutations’ and Giuseppe Ottaviani’s freshly juiced spin on the classic ‘Out Of Nowhere’. Temple One’s made sizeable waves for the label over the past 12 months. Reflecting that in sharpest possible focus, John works Temple’s ‘Encounter’, ‘Sun After Rain’ and ‘Reaching For A Dream’ into the mix. Two of Craig Connelly’s productions strike in succession at the midpoint with ‘A Reality’ and his latest ‘Lost Without You’. Sied van Riel and Giuseppe Ottaviani meanwhile edge the mix-needle ever closer to the red with (respectively) ‘Hold Me Close’ and ‘Till The Sunrise’. It’s John’s own production hand that deals the disc its final coup-de-grace. In convoy, you’ll find current single ‘Next Stop Muddy Waters’, built-for-the-album ‘Requiem For An Angel’ and Stine Grove’s seraphim toned ‘Our Destiny’ – collectively bringing it to its zenith.

    Now, if all that isn’t a quite, quite enough of a concentrated artistic dose for you, just wait and see what see Tobias Schuh has in store. Since his debut a decade ago, Cold Blue has enjoyed ever-greater acclaim with each year that’s passed. Those still awaiting an album debut can take in-lieu-of solace with what the man from Mainz has lined up. He binds no less than fourteen of his tracks and mixes into a beautifully arranged and thrillingly structured dive into the Blue. Among them are recent singles ‘Speed of Life’, ‘The Clash’, ‘Once In Time’ and ‘On The Outside, as well as current hit ‘Learning To Live’. There’s also a raft of his most recent remixes, expanding the floor reach of Lowland, Alex Di Stefano, David Forbes and others. Premiere material abounds too, with hot-off-the-desk exclusives like ‘Before We Leave’, ‘The Wave’, ‘A New Spirit’ and ‘Daylights’.


    Mix 1 – John O’Callaghan
    01 John O’Callaghan – Permutations (Intro Mix)
    02 Liam Wilson – Always With Me
    03 Temple One featuring Deidre McLaughlin – Reaching for A Dream
    04 John O’Callaghan – Choice of the Angels
    05 John O’Callaghan featuring Josie – Out Of Nowhere (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix)
    06 Temple One – Encounter
    07 Activa – Meridian
    08 Craig Connelly featuring Kate Miles – Lost Without You
    09 Craig Connelly – A Reality
    10 Temple One – Sun After Rain
    11 Sied van Riel featuring Natalie Gioia – Hold Me Close
    12 Giuseppe Ottaviani – Till The Sunrise
    13 John O’Callaghan – Next Stop Muddy Waters
    14 John O’Callaghan & Stine Grove – Our Destiny
    15 John O’Callaghan – Requiem For An Angel

    Mix 2 – Cold Blue
    01 Cold Blue – Before We Leave (Intro Mix)
    02 Cold Blue – The Wave
    03 Lowland – We’ve Been Here Before (Cold Blue Remix)
    04 Cold Blue – A New Spirit
    05 Cold Blue – Speed Of Life
    06 Cold Blue – Daylights
    07 Cold Blue – Learning To Live
    08 Cold Blue – The Clash
    09 Cold Blue – On The Outside (Original Mix)
    10 Jeff Rona – Like Water (Cold Blue Remix)
    11 Cold Blue – Before We Leave
    12 Alex Di Stefano – Never Back Down (Cold Blue Remix)
    13 David Forbes featuring Emma Gillespie – Shadows (Cold Blue Remix)
    14 Cold Blue – Once In Time (Original Mix)

    Thoroughbred trance from both the established and recently graduated, you can order
    ‘Subculture – Mixed by John O’Callaghan & Cold Blue here today.




    Share this article on Facebook (share this post in public mode),
    fill out the form and enter to win 1 of 2 copies!


    Facebook Name


    Please enter full address in this Contest Entry Form to receive the prize!
    Street Address

    Street Address Line 2



    Postal / Zip Code


    *ends on sunday 25.03.2018


    1. 👍🎧😜 ONE FOR MY SELF….!🇱🇹️

    2. # trance family liked and shared

    3. I want it too, please! 🤗

    4. Steve Branch says:

      No thank you ……….. already got it 🕺🖐🖑👐🕺🖐🖑👐😂🤓

    5. I want 😊😊😊😊😊



    • lifeisablurbcn
    • ionomusic
    • risen

    Leave a Reply

    31.03.2018 Johan Gielen Trance Classics Worldtour 2.0, Beachclub Vroeger (NL) Info & Tickets
    31.03.2018 Johan Gielen Trance Classics Worldtour 2.0, Beachclub Vroeger (NL) Info & Tickets